Territories
of the Americas

 

Immersive film Project
Inspired by the work of René Derouin

 

 

Film

Image film

360 Virtual Tour

“I am René Derouin. I am an artist. I am a Quebecer. I am a continentalist. I am a Métis from North America who has wandered to the South. I am a child of the territory. I am America.”

Territories of the Americas, like a road movie, journeys through the works of René Derouin and the lands he has explored. Experienced in an immersive dome and through virtual reality glasses, this 360 film revolves around the artist’s identity quest that spanned his 60-year career.

The film’s storyline links the creations of this multidisciplinary artist to the key areas of his migrations: from Quebec to Mexico, reaching Japan and the United States, passing through Canada’s Far North, then returning to his homeland. This virtual journey traces a fragmented portrait of Derouin, revealing the depth of his interior landscape.

As both an art film and experimental documentary, Territories of the Americas is an immersive artistic experience that delves into the heart of Derouin’s work.

The Artist at Work

In addition to following his journey through the remixing of his key works, the film also reveals the artist in his studio. For the occasion, Derouin creates a brand new piece, thus inserting the film in his own body of work.

Follow the artist :

Facebook
Official website

Derouin

A 60-year career across various territories

Homeland

In 1936, Derouin was born in Montreal’s Longue-Pointe neighbourhood, along the banks of the Saint Lawrence River. From very early on, he questioned his identity. His artistic journey began in 1955 with his first migration to Mexico, where he studied, discovered the art of muralists and immersed himself in pre-Columbian cultures.

New Land

At the end of the 1960s, Derouin studied in Japan with the engraver, Yoshida, learning the discipline and rituals of his art. He then crossed the United States in a van/studio with his companion, the artist Jeanne Molleur.

Northern Territory

Derouin explored Quebec’s northern territory at the end of the 1970s. His vast modular engravings trace a map of North America. It was among the Inuit that he rediscovered the art of the Mexican indigenous peoples, reconciling the Americas in his heart.

Terremoto

In 1985, at the Museo del Chopo de Mexico, Derouin presented his large exposition Suite Nordique, which displayed his research on nordicity over the last 20 years. The day after his arrival, the country was hit by the worst earthquake in its history. Derouin felt the shock of terrestrial power and drew human figures in crisis. He thus became a migrant of the Americas.

Marine Territory

For twenty years, Derouin both created and rejected the migrant character through various mediums. With Migrations, in 1992, he arranged 20,000 characters on 50 metres of engraved wood. With Largage, in 1994, the artist deposited 19,000 of his statuettes in the sediments of the Saint Lawrence. Gaston Miron wrote, “Derouin has stocked the river.”

Final Territories

In the mid-70s, Derouin left Montreal’s Carré Saint-Louis and built his home/studio in Val-David. In 1995, he created the Jardins du Précambrien on his land in the Laurentians, where he welcomed artists from the Americas to create in situ artwork.

Derouin continues his migrations, stopovers and exchanges to this day. He persists in his unique approach that is both culturally blended and baroque, expressing himself through his multidisciplinary art: engraving, drawing, sculpture and installations.

Crowdfunding

Campaign starting in September 2018!

 

Join us in funding the project on :

 

Tickets, artworks and accessories for sale. 

Team

Original idea: René Derouin, Pascal Pelletier and Michel D. T. Lam
Writing and Direction: Patrick Bossé
Artistic Direction: Martin Bernier
Director of Photography: Antonio Pierre De Almeida
Sound Recording : Dominique Chartrand
Production: Pascal Pelletier and Patrick Bossé

With the participation of Figure 55 Productions

Patrick Bossé

Writer, Director and Producer

Patrick Bossé has a bachelor’s in communications from the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) and a master’s in film studies from Concordia University. During his university career, he participated in the documentary series Paroles d’artiste as editor and director. His credits include the portraits of director André Brassard and actor Gilles Pelletier – both selected by the Festival international du film sur l’art (FIFA). In 2009 and 2010, the filmmaker produced two fiction shorts, Une étoile de mer and Livraison à domicile. He returned to the documentary genre in 2012 by directing Un nouveau monde – presented at Belgium’s Festival International du Film Francophone de Namur. His most recent film, Anatomie, borrows from both fiction and documentary styles, featuring the actors Françoise Graton and Gilles Pelletier – nominated for the 2015 Gala Quebec Cinéma in the category of Best Fiction Short. In 2016, he collaborated on the artistic direction of pianist Roman Zavada’s show Résonances boréales – presented in Montreal’s SAT dome (Société des Arts Technologiques). He has since experimented with 360 filming. Patrick has also collaborated with Figure 55 Productions for many years, sharing his penchant for exploring and innovating with the studio’s producer Pascal Pelletier.

Pascal Pelletier

Producer

Pascal Pelletier has vast experience in audio-visual producing and directing. In 2006, he founded his company Figure 55 Productions, where he has since lent his talent and expertise. He participates in developing creations that are both classic and unconventional, incorporating multiple facets of new multimedia technologies. In recent years, he has excelled in various domains ranging from corporate videos to documentaries, as well as massive video projections for major events. 2013 was a turning point in his career, initiating and producing his first immersive film with 360-degree visuals and audio: Harmonielehre. The project was developed with the Société des arts technologiques and the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, under the direction of Kent Nagano. Since then, he has completed around fifteen 360 films and virtual reality videos. His works in progress are numerous… and that’s a very good thing.

FIGURE 55

Figure 55 stands out for its multidisciplinary talent and its numerous productions that use a variety of approaches. For the last ten years, the studio has demonstrated a mastery of immersive projects, as well as promotional, museum and corporate productions. Figure 55 develops and produces creative multimedia content. The studio explores and explodes the possibilities of digital devices. Its team enjoys breaking the rules. The collective goal is to push each project to its artistic limits and provide the public with powerful immersive experiences. Creating its first 360 film in 2013 (Harmonielehre) was a turning point for the company, as much as it was for its leader Pascal: a first step that has led to giant leaps.

Contact

Pascal Pelletier

Téléphone : 514-586-0467
Courriel : pp@fig55.com

Territoires
des Amériques

 

Un film immersif avec René Derouin

 

 

 

 

Film

Image film

Tour d’horizon en 360°

« Je suis René Derouin. Je suis un artiste. Je suis un Québé­cois. Je suis un continentaliste. Je suis un métis d’Amérique du Nord en errance au Sud. Je suis un enfant du territoire et du continent. Je suis l’Américanité. »

Comme une traversée de l’œuvre de René Derouin et de ses terres explorées, Territoires des Amériques prend les allures d’un carnet de voyage. Présenté en dôme et en lunettes de réalité virtuelle, le film à 360 degrés tourne autour de la quête identitaire de l’artiste pendant ses 60 années de carrière.

La trame du film relie les créations de l’artiste multidisciplinaire aux lieux clés de ses migrations : du Québec au Mexique, jusqu’au Japon et aux États-Unis, en passant par le Grand Nord canadien, puis son retour en terre natale. Le parcours virtuel trace un portrait éclaté de Derouin et révèle la profondeur de ses terres intérieures.

Film d’art et expérimental, Territoires des Amériques est avant tout une expérience artistique immersive au cœur de l’œuvre de Derouin.

L’artiste à l’œuvre

En plus de suivre son cheminement à travers ses œuvres-phares remixées, le film dévoile l’artiste au travail dans son atelier. Derouin crée pour l’occasion une œuvre inédite et inscrit ainsi le film au cœur de son parcours.

Suivez l’artiste :

Facebook
Site web

Derouin

60 ans de carrière en plusieurs territoires

Terre natale

En 1936, Derouin nait au bord du fleuve Saint-Laurent dans le quartier Longue-Pointe à Montréal. Très tôt, il se questionne sur son identité. Son parcours d’artiste s’entame en 1955 par une première migration à Mexico. Il y étudie, découvre l’art des muralistes et plonge dans les cultures précolombiennes.

Terres d’exil

À la fin des années 60, Derouin étudie au Japon avec le graveur Yoshida. Il y apprend la discipline et le rituel dans son art. Il traverse ensuite les États-Unis en van-atelier avec sa compagne, l’artiste Jeanne Molleur.

Territoire nordique

À la fin des années 70, Derouin explore le territoire québécois. Ses vastes gravures modulaires tracent une cartographie du nord de l’Amérique. Auprès des Inuits, il retrouve l’art des autochtones mexicains. Il réconcilie les Amériques dans son esprit.

Terremoto

En 1985, Derouin présente au Museo del Chopo de Mexico sa grande exposition Suite Nordique : sa recherche des vingt dernières années sur la nordicité. Au lendemain de son arrivée, le pays subit le pire tremblement de terre de son histoire. Derouin ressent le choc des forces telluriques et dessine des figures humaines en crise. Il devient un migrant des Amériques.

Territoire marin

Pendant vingt ans, Derouin crée et décline le personnage du migrant sur divers supports. Avec Migrations en 1992, il dispose 20 000 personnages sur 50 mètres de bois gravé. Avec Largage en 1994, l’artiste dépose 19 000 de ses statuettes dans les sédiments du Saint-Laurent. Gaston Miron écrira : « Derouin a ensemencé le fleuve ».

Derniers territoires

Au milieu des années 70, Derouin quitte le carré Saint-Louis à Montréal et construit sa maison-atelier à Val-David. Sur son terrain dans les Laurentides, il crée les Jardins du Précambrien en 1995. Il y reçoit des artistes des Amériques pour créer des œuvres in situ.

Encore aujourd’hui, Derouin poursuit ses migrations, ses escales et ses échanges. Il continue sa démarche unique, métisse et baroque. Il s’exprime par un art multidisciplinaire : la gravure, le dessin, la sculpture et les installations.

Sociofinancement

Début de la campagne en septembre 2019!

 

Participez au financement du projet sur :

 

Vente de billets, d’œuvres originales et de produits dérivés.

Équipe

Idée originale : René Derouin, Pascal Pelletier et Michel D.T. Lam
Scénario et réalisation : Patrick Bossé
Direction artistique : Martin Bernier
Direction photo : Antonio Pierre de Almeida
Prise de son : Dominique Chartrand
Production : Pascal Pelletier et Patrick Bossé

Avec la participation de Les productions Figure 55

Patrick Bossé

Scénariste, réalisateur et producteur

Patrick Bossé détient un baccalauréat en communication de l’Université du Québec à Montréal et une maîtrise en études cinématographiques de l’Université Concordia. Pendant ses études, il participe comme monteur et réalisateur à la série documentaire Paroles d’artiste. Il signe les portraits du metteur en scène André Brassard et de l’acteur Gilles Pelletier – tous deux sélectionnés par le Festival international du film sur l’art (FIFA). En 2009 et 2010, le cinéaste réalise deux courts de fiction, Une étoile de mer et Livraison à domicile. Il renoue en 2012 avec le genre documentaire et réalise Un nouveau monde – diffusé au Festival International du Film Francophone de Namur en Belgique. Empruntant à la fiction et au documentaire, son plus récent film, Anatomie, met en scène le couple d’acteurs Françoise Graton et Gilles Pelletier – en nomination au Gala Québec Cinéma 2015 dans la catégorie du meilleur court métrage de fiction. En 2016, il collabore à la direction artistique du spectacle Résonances boréales du pianiste Roman Zavada – présenté dans le dôme de la Société des Arts Technologiques à Montréal. Il expérimente ensuite les tournages à 360 degrés. Patrick collabore aussi depuis plusieurs années avec les productions Figure 55. Il partage le goût d’explorer et d’innover avec le producteur de la boîte, Pascal Pelletier.

Pascal Pelletier

Producteur

Pascal Pelletier possède une vaste expérience dans la production et la réalisation audiovisuelle. Il fonde en 2006 les productions Figure 55. Il met alors son talent et son expertise au service de sa compagnie. Il participe à l’élaboration de créations à la facture autant classique qu’éclatée, tout en incorporant les multiples facettes des nouvelles technologies du multimédia. Au cours des dernières années, il s’est illustré dans des domaines variés, allant de la vidéo corporative jusqu’au cinéma documentaire, en passant par la méga-projection vidéo pour des événements majeurs. L’année 2013 marque un point tournant dans sa carrière. Il initie et produit son premier film immersif, en 360 degrés au plan visuel et sonore : Harmonielehre. Le projet est développé avec la Société des arts technologiques et l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, sous la direction du chef Kent Nagano. Depuis, il a mené à terme plus d’une quinzaine de films 360 et de vidéos de réalité virtuelle. Ses projets en cours sont nombreux… et c’est tant mieux!

Figure 55

Figure 55 se démarque par son talent multidisciplinaire et ses nombreuses réalisations aux approches variées. Depuis 10 ans, la boîte maîtrise autant la production promotionnelle, muséale, corporative qu’immersive. Figure 55 développe et produit du contenu multimédia créatif. La boîte explore et explose les dispositifs numériques. Son équipe s’amuse à éclater les règles en vigueur. L’objectif commun est de pousser chaque projet au bout de ses limites artistique et de faire vivre au public des puissantes expériences immersives. L’année 2013 marque un point tournant pour la compagnie : Figure 55 initie et produit son premier film immersif en 360 degrés. Un premier pas qui mène à de grandes avancées.

Contact

Pascal Pelletier

Téléphone : 514-586-0467
Courriel : pp@fig55.com